, ,

Chamber Honors Citizen of the Year & Welcomes Its New Leadership at Holiday Luncheon

The Evergreen Park Chamber of Commerce welcomed new leadership at its annual Holiday Luncheon on December 8 and announced its 2021 Citizen of the Year. The award went to Village Clerk Cathy Aparo, for her 37 years of public service. 

Aparo accepted the award with her signature blend of enthusiasm, humor, and humility. In her remarks, she entertained about 75 luncheon guests with funny stories drawn from her experiences on the job. She encouraged residents and businesses to stay involved in the community she loves.

During the luncheon, Evergreen Park Mayor Kelly Burke inducted a new slate of officers and directors that featured “old friends and new faces.” Specifically, the new Board of Directors members are Tammy Macak, Meijer; Frank Murray, Evergreen Park Public Library; A.J. Querciagrossa, OSF Little Company of Mary Medical Center; and Dr. Jenna Woodland, Evergreen Park Elementary School District 124. 

Incoming Chamber President Sara Klein of AAA Evergreen Park said her focus would be on partnerships to strengthen business-community engagement. She hopes to offer more social hours at member businesses, promote Chamber apparel, and establish a school mentorship program for future entrepreneurs.

Meet your 2022 Chamber leadership below:


PresidentSara Klein, AAA Evergreen Park
First Vice PresidentLaura Shallow, World Data Systems and Saint Xavier University
Second Vice PresidentMichele Carmona, Evergreen Bank Group
TreasurerJohn Anderson, Attorney at Law
SecretaryButch Zemar, Elite Benefits of America
Immediate Past PresidentMaria Cantú-Dougala, First Midwest Bank


Percy Allen, M.E.P. Exterminating
Jeseña Bonilla, First National Bank of Evergreen Park
Matt Herrmann, Culver’s of Evergreen Park
Sean Kelly, State Farm Insurance
Tammy Macak, Meijer
Frank Murray, Evergreen Park Public Library
Thomas O’Malley, Evergreen Park Community High School District 231
AJ Querciagrossa, OSF Healthcare
Bruce Smith, B Allan Graphics
Pam Waldrom Academy of Self Defense
Stephanie Welch, Humana
Dr. Jenna Woodland, Evergreen Park Elementary School District 124